top of page
Frederick Ashton (1904 - 1988)





Frederick Ashton對音樂及古典舞蹈都有深湛的理解,善於把前人的創造和成就提高到更高的境界。他的作品《門面》、《鄉村一月》(1931)、《瑪格麗特和阿芒》(1863)和《鄉村月月》(1976)等,線條清晰,層次分明,突破了古典芭蕾舞程式的框框,達到更完美的地步,使劇情、人物性格,舞蹈和音樂更加和諧統一。他的另一個特點是根據不同演員的個性編排舞劇,充分發揮他們的才能,培育出一大批出色的芭蕾舞演員。鑒於他對英國芭蕾藝術發展的卓越貢獻,英國政府封他為爵士。


以下為Frederick Ashton編舞的作品︰

1926 - A Tragedy of Fashion (music by Eugene Goossens, arranged by Ernest Irving)

1927 - Various dances for a Purcell Opera Society production of The Fairy-Queen: (music by Henry Purcell) 

1927 - Pas de deux (music by Fritz Kreisler) 

1927 - Suite de danses (music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)

1927 - Argentine Dance (music by Artello)

1928 - Nymphs and Shepherds (music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)

1928 - Leda (music by Christoph Willibald Gluck)

1929 - Various dances for Jew Süss (incidental music arranged by Constant Lambert)

1930 - Capriol Suite (music by Peter Warlock)

1930 - Pomona (music by Constant Lambert)

1931 - Regatta (music by Gavin Gordon)

1931 - La Péri (music by Léo Delibes)

1931 - Façade (music by William Walton)

1931 - The Lady of Shalott (music by Jean Sibelius)

1932 - Foyer de danse (music by Lord Berners)

1933 - Les Rendezvous (music by Daniel Auber, arranged by Constant Lambert)

1933 - Pavane pour une enfante défunte (music by Maurice Ravel)

1934 - Mephisto Valse (music by Franz Liszt)

1935 - Le Baisier de la fée (music by Igor Stravinsky) 

1936 - Apparitions (music by Franz Liszt, arranged by Constant Lambert and orchestrated by Gordon Jacob)

1936 - Nocturne (music by Frederick Delius) 

1937 - Les Patineurs (music by Giacomo Meyerbeer, arranged by Constant Lambert) 

1937 - A Wedding Bouquet (music by Lord Berners) 

1938 - Horoscope (music by Constant Lambert) 

1938 - The Judgement of Paris (music by Lennox Berkeley) 

1939 - Cupid and Psyche (music by Lord Berners) 

1940 - Dante Sonata (music by Franz Liszt, orchestrated by Constant Lambert)

1940 - The Wise Virgins (music by J S Bach, orchestrated by William Walton),

1941 - The Wanderer (music by Franz Schubert)

1943 - The Quest (music by William Walton) 

1946 - Symphonic Variations (music by César Franck)

1946 - Les Sirènes (music by Lord Berners, orchestrated by Roy Douglas) 

1946 - various dances for a Royal Opera production of The Fairy-Queen (music by Henry Purcell, arranged by Constant Lambert)

1947 - Valses nobles et sentimentales (music by Maurice Ravel) 

1948 - Scènes de ballet (music by Igor Stravinsky) 

1948 - Don Juan (music by Richard Strauss) 

1948 - Cinderella (music by Sergei Prokofiev) 

1949 - Le Rêve de Léonor (music by Benjamin Britten, orchestrated by Arthur Oldham) 

1950 - Illuminations (music by Benjamin Britten) 

1951 - Daphnis et Chloé (music by Maurice Ravel), created for Margot Fonteyn and Michael Somes

1951 -  Tiresias (music by Constant Lambert) 

1952 - Sylvia (music by Léo Delibes) 

1952 - Picnic at Tintagel (music by Arnold Bax) 

1953 - Homage to the Queen (music by Malcolm Arnold) 

1955 - Romeo and Juliet (music by Sergei Prokofiev) 

1955 - Rinaldo and Armida (music by Malcolm Arnold) 

1956 - La Peri (music by Paul Dukas) 

1956 - Birthday Offering (music by Alexander Glazunov, arranged by Robert Irving) 

1958 - Ondine (music by Hans Werner Henze), created for Dame Margot Fonteyn

1958 - La Valse (music by Maurice Ravel) 

1960 - La fille mal gardée (music by Ferdinand Hérold - John Lanchbery 

1961 - Persephone (music by Igor Stravinsky) 

1963 - The Two Pigeons (music by André Messager, arranged by John Lanchbery) 

Marguerite and Armand (music by Franz Liszt, orchestrated by Humphrey Searle). Soloists: Margot Fonteyn and Rudolf Nureyev

1964 - The Dream after Shakespeare's A Midsummer's Night Dream (music by Felix Mendelssohn, some music arranged by John Lanchbery) 

1965 - Monotones (music by Erik Satie, orchestrated by Claude Debussy) 

1968 - Jazz Calendar (music by Richard Rodney Bennett) 

1968 - Enigma Variations (music by Edward Elgar) 

1970 - Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus (The Creatures of Prometheus) (music by Ludwig van Beethoven) 

1970 - Lament of the Waves (music by Gérard Masson) 

1972 - The Walk to the Paradise Garden (music by Frederick Delius) 

1975 - Five Brahms Waltzes (music by Johannes Brahms) 

1976 - A Month in the Country (music by Frédéric Chopin, arranged by John Lanchbery) 

1977 - Voices of Spring (music by Johann Strauss II) 

1980 - Rhapsody (music by Sergei Rachmaninoff) 

1982 - Pas de légumes (music by Gioachino Rossini) 

1985 - La chatte métamorphosée en femme (music by Jacques Offenbach) 

Sir Frederick Ashton. Photo: Anthony Crickmay /

V&A Theatre Museum ©

bottom of page